• Vision and Mission

History of Wijaya Putra University


Wijaya Putra University was founded by the Wijaya Putra Educational Foundation on February 27, 1981, based on the Decree of the Chairman of the Foundation Number 009 / YPWP / II / 1981, which initially opened 3 (three) Faculties, namely:

  1. Faculty of Agriculture, with a study program in Social Economics of Agriculture.
  2. Faculty of Economics with Economics & Development studies, study programs, and Management.
  3. Faculty of Social and Political Sciences, with the State Administration department.

Each of the department mentioned above has obtained registered status since its inception in 1985 in accordance with the Decree of the Minister of Education and Culture No. 070 / O / 1985 in 1981 until the end of 1989. At that time, Wijaya Putra Putra’s academic activities took place in the SD Public Building Kepanjen, Jl Kepanjen No. 15 Surabaya. Starting from February 2, 1990, all academic and administrative activities were centered on the new Campus of Wijaya Putra University, located on Jl. Raya Benowo, Babat Jerawat Village, Pakal District, Surabaya.

At present the University of Wijaya Putra under management of the Indonesia Mandiri Insan Foundation (YIIM), has completed the development of facilities in the form of phase II campus building construction (Building B, Building C, and Building D). Since the academic year 1989/1999 also occupied campus II at Singgasana Hotel Surabaya (formerly Surabaya Hilton International). Then since the 2003/2004 academic year took place on campus III at Prigen. Campus III besides being a place for conducting academic activities, it is also used for the Outbound Management Training (OMT) program and as a Center for Behavior Education.

In the 2011/2012 academic year, Building E, the new building was inaugurated by the Mayor of Surabaya, Ms. Ir. Tri Rismaharini, MT, during the 31st Anniversary, the building was more concentrated for morning classes, as well as the construction of campuses in Jajartunggal, 

Besides the efforts to develop building and campus development, Wijaya Putra University also developed several departments and currently has 6 faculties with 9 department and has opened a Postgraduate program with 2 departments. The departments are as follows:

  1. Postgraduate Program consist of Masters in Management (Financial Management, HRM, Marketing Management and Education Management) and Masters in Public Administration (Public Policy, Public Service and Education Policy).
  2. Faculty of Economics and Business, consists Regional & Islamic Economics Concentration), Management (Financial Management Concentration, HRM and Marketing Management), and Accounting (Financial Accounting & Taxation Concentration).
  3. Faculty of Agriculture has  Agricultural Social Economics department (Concentration of Agribusiness).
  4. Faculty of Social & Political Sciences has State Administration department (Concentration of Public Policy & Management of Public Services).
  5. Faculty of Law, has Law department (Concentration of Business & Judicial Law).
  6. Faculty of Engineering consists of Mechanical Engineering Department(Automotive Manufacturing & Machinery Concentration), Industrial Engineering Department (Process Industry Concentration & Product Design).
  7. Faculty of Language and Literature, consist English Literature Department(Tesol and English in Business Concentration).

In the teaching and learning process, students are guided by educative staff with a total of 216 people, consisting of:

  1. The lecturer is still a foundation of 161 people;
  2. Permanent lecturers from Kopertis VII Region Dpk 16 people;
  3. Non-permanent lecturers from PTN 39 people;

The lecturers came from 38 doctoral graduates, 165 masters, 6 were doctoral candidates, 8 professors and scholars were 21 people, 6 of whom were undergraduate study. While lecturers who have passed certification and obtained certification as Professional lecturers to date are as many as 44 lecturers. To support the teaching and learning process, Wijaya Putra University provides adequate library facilities, laboratories and other facilities, as well as providing administrative services to students, which are currently being developed by an integrated service system based on information technology.